Wingecarribee Shire’s top citizens announced

27 January, 2022Posted in: Events
 , ,

Wingecarribee Shire’s 2022 Australia Day Citizen and Young Citizen of the year have today been announced.

Berrima resident Eric Savage has been named Wingecarribee Shire’s 2022 Australia Day Citizen of the Year.

Mr Savage was nominated for his community advocacy, volunteer work and leadership within the Berrima Residents Association (BRA).

During his time as Chair of the BRA, Mr Savage has championed local issues and causes, promoted the wellbeing of residents and advanced his immediate community.

Young Citizen of the Year was awarded to Jeremy Millward.

The Moss Vale High School Captain was nominated for his advocacy of mental health and wellbeing programs as well as his dedication to raising awareness and charity fundraising.

Wingecarribee Shire Interim Administrator, Mr Viv May PSM, congratulated both recipients saying they were shining examples of the Southern Highlands community spirit.

“We’re very fortunate to have such dedicated, hardworking and compassionate people in our Shire,” he said.

“The Southern Highlands is without doubt a better place as a result of their selfless contributions.”

The Interim Administrator said choosing just two recipients this year was a difficult task.

“The Australia Day Awards provide an opportunity for Council and the community to recognise and thank those residents who continue to work for the betterment of our community,” he said.

“I commend all of our nominees for the positive influence they have made towards this Shire.”

Mr Alex Baturnsky, Mrs Natalie Block, Mr John Lineker and Miss Grace Howard were also nominated. To learn more, visit

Both recipients were presented with their awards during on online ceremony from 10 am on Wednesday 26 January.  A recording is available on Wingecarribee Shire Council’s YouTube page.