Nominations open for regional NAIDOC awards

14 November, 2012Posted in: Community, Events
 , ,

Outstanding contributions made by Aboriginal residents in the Wingecarribee, Illawarra, and Shoalhaven areas will be rewarded at the 2012 Local Government Regional NAIDOC Awards later this month.

Wingecarribee Shire Council is accepting nominations for the seven award categories that include:

  • Aboriginal Young Achiever of the Year (male and female),
  • Aboriginal Worker of the Year,
  • Aboriginal Community Representative of the Year,
  • Aboriginal Organisation of the Year, and
  • Aboriginal Elder of the Year (male and female).

Wingecarribee Shire Mayor, Councillor Juliet Arkwright urged the Shire’s residents to nominate local Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people for the awards.

“These awards provide our Aboriginal community members with the positive recognition that they deserve,” Mayor Juliet Arkwright said.

“The innovation and leadership of many Aboriginal Elders continues to set a standard for which the younger generations can aspire, and the community is continuing to forge successful paths in sports, academics, community and professional arenas,” she said.

The fourth annual NAIDOC Awards will be celebrated with a special screening of ‘The Sapphires’ at 1pm Saturday 24 November at the Greater Union cinemas in Shellharbour, starring actor, Deborah Mailman. Script Writer Tony Briggs will be in attendance at the ceremony.

“These awards are a great opportunity to recognise the unsung efforts of our Indigenous residents in the fields of music, arts, culture, education, sport, employment and politics,” Councillor Arkwright added.

Nomination forms are available online at or can be posted by contacting or phone 4868 0866.

Entries close Friday, 16 November 2012.

“The awards will be a very special celebration of our Aboriginal culture and I invite everyone to come along and support the event,” Councillor Arkwright added.

Tickets can be purchased at a cost of $8 by contacting Shellharbour City Council on phone 4221 6107.

A free coach transfer departing from Moss Vale, Bowral and Mittagong is also available and can be booked by phoning Wingecarribee Shire Council’s Community Development Coordinator on phone 4868 0866.