Nominations now open for Wingecarribee Heritage Awards

9 April, 2018Posted in: Events

Wingecarribee Shire Council is calling on nominations for the 2018 Wingecarribee Heritage Awards.

Council’s Strategic Land Use Planner Heritage, Fiona Mann explained the significance of the awards.

“The Southern Highlands contains some of the most beautiful and significant heritage buildings and heritage items in the state,” she said.

“Preserving our unique history can however be a considerable undertaking,” Ms Mann added.  “These awards subsequently celebrate the efforts and outcomes of local heritage projects and the people responsible for protecting our heritage building and items.”

Held every two years and coordinated through Council’s Heritage Committee, the Wingecarribee Heritage Awards pay tribute to recent heritage and conservation projects undertaken across the Shire.

Ms Mann said the awards were also an opportunity to recognise the craftsmanship of traditional tradespersons and promote heritage conservation in the Highlands.

“Apart from celebrating the Shire’s numerous heritage projects, these awards are also the perfect opportunity to recognise the many talented tradespeople and the skills they use to preserve our remarkable buildings,” Ms Mann said.  “Skills that in some cases are becoming a lost art.”

A total of 10 categories are open for nomination and include:

  • Best conservation of a heritage place
  • Best sympathetic addition to a heritage place
  • Best creative adaptation to a heritage place
  • Best maintained heritage place
  • Best heritage work by a local or state institution
  • Best heritage precinct
  • Best heritage trade
  • Best heritage tourism project or initiative
  • Significant achievement in heritage by an individual or organisation
  • Best contribution to an understanding of heritage in the Wingecarribee Shire

“With so many categories available for nomination we encourage as many entries as possible.”

Nominations for the 2018 Wingecarribee Heritage Awards close Sunday 15 April 2018.

Guidelines, criteria and nomination forms can be found on Council’s website at:

For further information contact Council’s Strategic Planner of Heritage via email at