Council secures over $1 million in Black Spot funding

27 May, 2016Posted in: Roads and Assets
 , , , , ,

Wingecarribee Shire Council has secured over $1 million in grant funding from the Australian Federal Government to rectify four local ‘black spots’.

In total $1,051,780 has been allocated as part of the Australian Government’s Black Spot Programme to remedy traffic accident sites within the Shire.

In a bid to improve safety, $360,000 has been allotted to install a one-lane roundabout at the intersection of the Old Hume Highway, Lyell Street and Owen Street in Mittagong.  A further $348,460 has been allocated for the construction of a roundabout at the intersection of Throsby and Spring Streets, Moss Vale.

Drapers Road north of Gantry Place in Colo Vale will receive $171,920 while Range Road east of Old South Road Mittagong will receive $171,400 to upgrade and improve safety and skid resistance.

Upgrades will include non-skid seal, reflective guideposts, advisory speed signs and curve alignment markers.

Wingecarribee Shire Mayor, Councillor Larry Whipper praised the announcement.

“These locations are areas known to have recorded previous crashes,” he said.

“These funds provided by the Department of Infrastructure and Transport will deliver safer roads across the Wingecarribee Shire.”

The above projects were nominated by Council and supported by the Roads and Maritime Services (RMS) because of their poor crash history.

“The Federal Government agreed with our assessment that these projects were high priority areas,” the Mayor added.  “This is also the reason they’ve been fully funded as part of the Black Spot Programme.”

Council will include these sites in its 2016/17 Capital Works Program and plan on having crews at all locations as soon as possible.

“This announcement is further testimony of the Federal Government’s confidence in our Shire to successfully deliver on these types of capital improvements to our road network,” the Mayor said.

“And we thank the Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, the Hon Darren Chester MP for his continued support of our Shire.”