Council calls for reps to join Southern Region JRPP

27 May, 2015Posted in: Community

Candidate Information Seminars

Wingecarribee Shire Council is calling on interested members of the public to join the Southern Region Joint Regional Planning Panel (JRPP).

“Two community positions have become available on the Southern Region’s Joint Regional Planning Panel that may interest some of our local community members,” said Council’s Group Manager of Planning, Development and Regulatory Services, Nick Wilton.

“Ideally the applicant would have relevant qualifications in Town Planning, Architecture, Science or similar,” Mr Wilton said.  “Knowledge of and experience in the NSW Planning System and relevant legislation would also be beneficial.”

Joint Regional Planning Panels were established as an initiative of the New South Wales State Government in 2009 to consider and determine Development Applications and Planning Proposals that fall under certain criteria established under the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979.

The Panels provide independent, merit-based decision making on regionally significant development.  Applications for regionally significant development are notified and assessed by a local council professional staff member before being determined by the relevant Regional Panel.

The positions are for one community member and one alternate community member.

“Any interested persons should also have a keen interest and commitment to ensuring sustainable development within the Southern Highlands,” Mr Wilton added.

The Southern Region Joint Regional Planning Panel encompasses a total of 29 regional Councils from Wagga Wagga in the west to the Snowy River and Bega Valley Shires in the south. The successful appointees from Wingecarribee Shire Council will however only need to deal with those applications within the Wingecarribee Shire Council area.

There are six regional panels across the State comprising of five members each.  Three members are independent experts appointed by the Minister and two by the relevant Council. Wingecarribee Shire Council has an elected Councillor as one appointee and a member of the community as the second appointee.

The panel is convened by the New South Wales Department of Planning and Environment and panel members are bound by the JRPP code of conduct. For more information visit

Expressions of Interest will be accepted up until the close of business Friday 19 June 2015 and should be made in writing and addressed to:

The General Manager,

Wingecarribee Shire Council

PO Box 141, MOSS VALE NSW 2577

For further information contact Council’s Group Manager Planning, Development and Regulatory Services, Nick Wilton on phone (02) 4868 0888.