Council calls for NAIDOC Awards nominations

20 May, 2011Posted in: Community
 , ,

Nominations for this year’s Local Government Regional NAIDOC Awards have opened with entries being called in the five categories on offer.

The awards are held in conjunction with neighbouring councils in Shellharbour, Kiama, the Shoalhaven and Wollongong and recognise the contributions of Indigenous Australians across our region.

Wingecarribee Shire Council’s Aboriginal Liaison Officer, Marie Barbaric urged the Shire’s residents to nominate local Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people for the awards.

“Indigenous residents play an extremely important role within the area and it’s fantastic to be able to recognise these contributions during our NAIDOC Week celebrations,” she said.

Nominations are open in the following categories:

  • Aboriginal Young Achiever of the Year (male/female)
  • Aboriginal Worker of the Year
  • Aboriginal Community Representative of the Year
  • Aboriginal Organisation of the Year, and
  • Aboriginal Elder of the Year

“These awards are a great opportunity to recognise the unsung efforts of our Indigenous residents in the fields of music, arts, culture, education, sport, employment and politics,” Ms Barbaric added.

Nominations for the Awards close on Wednesday 1 June.

Tickets for the awards ceremony to be held at the Shellharbour Workers Club on Saturday 2 July are available at a cost of $40 per head which includes coach transfer from the Southern Highlands to the venue, a three course dinner, announcement of the awards and entertainment including the Women of Soul, The Donovans and the Danooch Dancers.

Tickets are strictly limited and are available from the Guthawah Aboriginal Culture Centre located at 556 Argyle Street Moss Vale or by contacting Council’s Aboriginal Liaison Officer on 4868 0856.